Tracing the history of Schloss Lautrach
Experience history with all of your senses in our charming castle hotel, whose origins date back to 1781. The majestic Schloss Lautrach radiates princely charm and elegance to this day. Immerse yourself in the rich past of this impressive estate, which has witnessed numerous events and notable personalities over the centuries.
Hunting lodge and provostry
In 1781, Prince-Abbot of Kempten, Baron Honorius von Schreckenstein, had Schloss Lautrach built as a provostry and hunting lodge within only three years. With its ornate rococo decoration and mansard roof with gable-crowned central risalit, it embodies the splendour of a bygone era.
Firmas-Perier builds a theatre in the castle
When Bavaria took over Schloss Lautrach in 1803 in the course of secularisation, a new era began for this magnificent estate. Shortly thereafter, in 1805, it was sold to the French emigrant Count Firmas-Perier, who allowed the castle to continue to flourish.
Under this new owner, the chateau received a magnificent two-story theatre hall in 1825, which was decorated with hand-printed paper wallpaper from the Dufour manufactory in Paris. The ceiling paintings depicted the "Toilet of Venus," while the panoramic wallpaper narrated various scenes from the "Travels of Anthenor." These rare wallpapers are true treasures, decorating the castle with timeless elegance and artistic splendour.
Today, only a few such wall tapestries have been preserved. Apart from Schloss Lautrach, Dufour wallpapers can also be admired in the Metropolitan Museum in New York and Fasanerie Castle near Fulda.
Female educational institution
of higher education
As early as 1838, the castle was used by the visionary educator and Catholic priest Joseph Deybach as a "Female Educational Institution of Higher Education." Here, schoolgirls from Germany and abroad received a comprehensive education and were raised to become self-confident and educated women.
Intellectual and cultural centre at Schloss Lautrach
The true golden age of Schloss Lautrach began in 1921, when the castle was acquired by the brilliant art historian and inventor of the gyrocompass, Hermann Anschütz-Kaempfe. With tireless passion, he had the property lavishly renovated and donated it to the Ludwig Maximilian University. The castle became an inspiring meeting place for scientists, artists and Nobel Prize winners, who shared their ideas here and shaped the intellectual scene of the early-20th century.
»Paradise! O vexation, that I must already depart!«
None other than Albert Einstein immortalised himself in the guest book of Schloss Lautrach in 1923 with these words. He and Anschütz-Kaempfe were connected by a lifelong, close friendship.
Personalities such as Albert Einstein, Karl von Frisch, Arnold Sommerfeld, Heinrich Wieland, Wilhelm Wien, Raoul Frank and Olaf Gulbransson met here.
Known as "faculty meetings," these gatherings were famous for their interdisciplinary atmosphere and provided a platform for discussions and the exchange of ideas.
LZ 127 Graf Zeppelin
In 1929, the airship LZ 127 Graf Zeppelin crowned its globe-spanning voyage by making a welcoming flight over the majestic Schloss Lautrach. With an unforgettable salute to the inventor of the gyrocompass, Hermann Anschütz-Kaempfe, it reverently tilted its bow three times. Without this pioneering compass, successful navigation on this historic voyage would not have been possible.
Preserving the heritage of Schloss Lautrach
In 1989, the Management Centrum Schloss Lautrach was founded with the aim of preserving the historic estate and developing it into a modern event venue.
During this significant restoration phase, special attention was paid to preserving the historic details and original elegance of the castle. Lovingly preserved elements such as the hand-printed paper wallpaper in the Rococo Theatre Hall and the ornate wall panelling in the Anschütz-Kaempfe Library were carefully restored to maintain the timeless charm of bygone eras.
At the same time, modern amenities were introduced to provide guests with a comfortable stay. Finally, in October 1993, the Management Centrum Schloss Lautrach was opened.
History at your fingertips in four-star garb
Today, Schloss Lautrach is an award-winning four-star hotel that proudly carries on its long tradition of education, meeting and culture.
Amidst the lovingly preserved details and breathtaking architecture, you can literally feel the bygone era and transport yourself back to a time when beauty and elegance were omnipresent.